Intermittent Fasting – What is it and does it work?

Intermittent fasting. If you’ve heard about it, you’ll know that it’s definitely becoming a popular term in the fitness industry. I heard of intermittent fasting a few months ago and decided to give it a shot.

Intermittent fasting, according to authority nutrition.com, is “a term for an eating pattern that cycles between periods of fasting and eating.” There is a principle that states people who eat less are generally healthier, and IF comes from this very principle.

So, how does IF work, and what are the benefits?

Basically you pick hours of the day in which you are fasting and eating. For me, I eat between the hours of about 10:30 am to 8 pm, leaving me with about 14 hours of fasting. Does this sound kind of awful? Sure, but it really isn’t. I’ll get to that in a bit. First, let’s go over some of the health benefits of IF:

  1. When you fast, your insulin levels tend to drop dramatically. With lower insulin levels, stored body fat is more accessible.
  2. While fasting, your cells enter cellular repair process. Because of this, cells remove old proteins that build up inside.
  3. Fasting can increase your metabolic rate by 3.6 percent to 14 percent, which makes for a great weight loss tool.
  4. A study on rats showed IF increased their lifespan by 36-83 percent longer.

With all this in mind, if you’re trying to gain weight, IF may not be for you. Intermittent fasting has shown to be a great tool for losing weight, especially belly fat. Make sure to identify your goals before trying fasting.

So, with all these facts aside, let’s get to my story.

I tried IF a few months ago. The first day was so easy, it actually surprised me. The second and third day, however, were not fun at all. I was SO hungry. All I could think about was when I was going to start eating and how I was going to stop at the end of the night. Because of this, I decided IF wasn’t for me.

Fast-forward to three weeks ago, and I came across a video from ProgressPure, a fitness blogger who I love. She mentioned IF and suggested to try it for a few weeks before deciding whether IF is for you or not. I was a little hesitant but decided to give it another shot. This time, I decreased my fasting time to the 14 hours I mentioned above, instead of the 16 hours I had tried months ago.

It was so much easier. Besides a few rare days of being hungry, IF has proven to be pretty easy.

What I absolutely love about intermittent fasting is that there aren’t a whole lot of rules that come with it. You can essentially eat whatever you want, as long as you’re fasting. I obviously suggest eating relatively healthy, but I definitely don’t feel the pressure to follow a strict diet. The best part is that I can see a difference! My stomach is flatter, I feel lighter and I like having a schedule for eating. Because of IF, I now do fasted cardio in the morning, drink a cup of tea or coffee after my cardio and then I finally eat a big breakfast. It’s convenient, easy and pressure-free.

If you’re interested in trying intermittent fasting, I definitely recommend what Progress Pure suggested – try it out for a few weeks and see if it’s for you! Don’t be afraid to work with how many hours your body can handle. I feel much better with those two extra hours of eating, and I still see a big difference in my weight.

Hope this helps!

xoxo

One thought on “Intermittent Fasting – What is it and does it work?

  1. My favorite is the “8 hour diet” which is where you can eat almost anything you want within an 8 hour window…although I sometimes turn it into the “10 hour diet”… and then occasionally the “14 hour diet”…. which pretty much means I am eating everything I can find from the time I wake up till the time I fall asleep. Super effective!
    https://damngirlgetyourshittogether.com/

Leave a Reply

