What is Casual?

If you’re reading this, I’m assuming you have at least a slight interest in fashion. Or, you’re just supporting me, in which I am forever grateful for.

If you’re a bit of a fashionista yourself, I’m sure you’ve run into this problem. You’re going to class or to lunch, and you decide you’re going to dress nice. You pair your newest eyewear and cute shoes with an outfit you feel good about and you drive over. As soon as you get out of the car your friend says, “Why are you so dressed up?”

It’s something that happens to me at least twice a week.

Although I understand why sometimes wearing leggings and a large hoodie is exactly what someone wants to wear, I can’t quite understand why it’s confusing to look at the word “casual” in the opposite way.

So what exactly does casual mean? To me, casual can still mean dressing nicely. You can rock some distressed boyfriend jeans, a white tee and fierce shoes casually. You can wear a dress casually. You can also wear sweats casually. Fashion is about wearing your interpretations of styles and outfits.

The best part about fashion, regardless of what Fashion Police argues, is that there really is no such thing as right or wrong. What is right for me, usually isn’t right for everyone else, and what someone else rocks probably isn’t my go-to outfit of choice.

Like in most things, keeping an open mind and letting people slay in their own way is usually the best road to take.

And now, I leave you with my outfit of the day to a “casual” lunch 😉

xoxo

IMG_0641.jpg

IMG_0683.jpg

IMG_0662.jpg

IMG_0691.jpg

 

Black and white envelope skirt from Zara (sold out)

 

3 thoughts on “What is Casual?

Leave a Reply

