A Weekend in DC

When you come from somewhere like Gainesville, Florida, seasons aren’t really a thing. It’s either hot, or its cold. Getting to experience real cold with leaves changing colors and actually getting in the mood for a real holiday is pretty rare. So when I got the chance to spend a weekend in DC to visit my sister, I was all about it.

I’m pretty sure I’ve been to DC before back when I was too young to remember anything, and although I have seen hundreds of pictures of our capital, I knew it would be different from what I imagined.

Of course as soon as our trip was approaching, we found out it was going to be the coldest weekend of the month (why would we expect anything less?). So I excitedly packed a heavier coat, scarves and some combat boots.

For anyone thinking about going to DC, you really need to think about what you want to see and how much time you want to see them. For the short weekend we were there, we saw A LOT. But we also didn’t give ourselves much of a break either.

IMG_7678

IMG_7630 IMG_7693

I had three favorite parts of my trip. The first one is obviously the fashion. Big cities equal better style, usually.  I really enjoyed getting to see everyone’s take on style, especially entering a different season.

My second favorite part of DC was the history. I felt like no matter where we went, there was a story behind it.

And finally, I have a weird fascination with World War II. When we went to visit the memorial, World War II veterans showed up and I got the chance to talk to a veteran myself! It was honestly the most rewarding part of the trip.

IMG_7666 IMG_7670 IMG_7629 IMG_7598 IMG_7634 IMG_7687 IMG_7665 IMG_7657 IMG_7661 IMG_7664 IMG_7680 IMG_7622 IMG_7600

Now I want to hear from you. Have you been to DC? What was your favorite part of visiting the capital. If you haven’t, what are you looking forward to the most if you go?

xoxo

2 thoughts on “A Weekend in DC

Leave a Reply

