Fitness and Diet Routine

As promised, here is my complete fitness routine! In my last post I mentioned a lifestyle change. I know many of you interested in fitness and health have heard those words before, but what do they really mean?

Fitness7

I have struggled a lot when it came to really making a change in my overall routine. My body has always been pretty easy to work with and my weight fluctuated constantly. This meant I could be ready for whatever event in about two weeks if I really tried. However, doing a crash diet for a couple of weeks and hopping back on my usual diet and workouts afterwards didn’t really help me in any way. If anything, it confused my body.

Which is why when my boyfriend proposed a new fitness plan, I reluctantly agreed to give it a go.

The plan is as follows:

Every morning, we arrived at the gym at 8-8:30 AM for cardio and abs. He would go play basketball and I would either run or walk on incline on the treadmill or do some other heart-pumping exercise.

I’ve always hated and sucked at running so my mini goal was to get better at it, and I definitely have.

After 40 minutes to an hour of cardio, we would do an ab circuit. We’d start off with leg lifts and incorporate different weights as well. Keep in mind we would try to change up a few things in our work outs, whether that be the amount of reps, the weight, or the exercise. Our bodies get accustomed to work outs quickly, so changing it up is a great way to keep your body in shape.

IMG_4216 (1)

Later that evening we would return to the gym to do weight training.

Every day we did a different muscle group.

Mondays were legs, Tuesdays were chest, Wednesdays were back, Thursdays arms and shoulders and Friday we would either have a rest day or start again at legs.

For each day we would spend anywhere from an hour to two hours at the gym doing weight training. It’s so, so important to do weights because it boosts your metabolism. There are some myths that girls who lift heavy will be bulky and manly, but it’s not true. Don’t be afraid to incorporate weight into your everyday work out routine.

With fall semester starting, this work out routine has not stayed the same. I have been insanely busy with four internships and a job along with classes this semester, so hitting the gym twice a day just isn’t ideal. However, that being said, being consistent about going to the gym at least five times a day is how I was able to see results. I’ve kept the same weight training routine and left one day for rest, and another day for cardio and abs.

Along with hitting the gym, diet is unfortunately crucial. I’ve tried thousands of different diets, trying to cheat the system and it just doesn’t work.

I finally developed a plan that works for me and it’s actually quite simple. Basically, I cut out all junk food from my diet, especially processed foods and sugary drinks (minus Starbucks of course). I’ve also been conscience about incorporating more fruits and veggies into my diet and eating smaller portions. But if you’re anything like me, you know that this won’t last long, so I’ve made one day of the week my cheat day. On cheat day, anything goes and it is lovely. What I’ve discovered is, by the time it’s cheat day, I can’t really handle eating too much junk food because of how consistent my healthy eating has become.

Being consistent about diet and exercise is what has helped me. Just because this has worked for me, it doesn’t mean this will work for you. Everyone’s body is different.

IMG_3978 IMG_3868

I recommend exploring different options and seeing what makes you feel lighter, better and more energized throughout the day. Once you start feeding your body what it needs, you’ll see results.

That being said, just because I’ve seen a huge difference in my body, I’m not going to go back to my old habits. Like I said before, this isn’t a diet, it’s a lifestyle change.

Fitness8

Leave a Reply

