My Lifestyle Change

I can’t even begin to tell you how many fitness pages I follow on Instagram and Twitter. It’s become somewhat of an obsession to look at squat inspo or healthy snack recipes.

I keep reading all these blogs saying that in order to get the body you want, you not only need to change your diet and fitness, but you also need to make a lifestyle change. That’s great and all but that doesn’t sound easy.

I think I, like most people, go through spells of working out hard at the gym and adding more greens to my diet until I pass a Chick-fil-a and all of a sudden forget what veggies are. It’s an easy cycle to get trapped in. “I’ll start my diet tomorrow” and “I’ll make today cheat day” is all too familiar to me. It took me a very long time to really understand that in order to get the results you want, you need to really dedicate yourself.

It all started when my boyfriend challenged me to join him at the gym every day, twice a day. We’d do cardio and abs in the mornings (at the ridiculous time of 8 AM) and meet again in the evening for weight training. I pretty much rejected the idea of waking up early to work out and promised I’d just meet him in the evenings. Besides, I had to be at work for most of the day, right??

I can’t really explain what changed in me, but I had a moment in which I said enough was enough and I just needed to grow a pair and hit the gym. I’ve never ever been a runner. In fact, the most I could run was probably two minutes without stopping…impressive, I know. But one morning, I dragged myself to the treadmill and ran for 25 minutes STRAIGHT. I felt so good and was drenched by the end. Right after, I went straight to the bicycle and finished off for the rest of the hour, resulting in 5 1/2 miles by the end of my work out. I left that morning feeling more energized and ready to tackle a few things before heading to work.

I’ve read a few times that if you want to change, you need to do it for yourself. I didn’t really know what that meant until I experienced it. Sometimes starting the workout is hard. Sometimes even getting out of bed is a challenge, but when you’re dedicated and ready to hit your goals, the hardest part is quitting.

So tomorrow morning, I will be hitting the weights before heading to Busch Gardens to ride some roller coasters and probably burn off a thousand calories.

I know quite a few of you can relate to my story and I hope this inspired you to keep trying toward your goals and really imagine yourself crossing the finish line. I promise you the feeling afterwards makes it all worth it.

xoxo

If you’d like to read more about my diet and exercise routine, like this post or tweet me @laceandmimosas

Leave a Reply

