The Truth About Bleaching Your Hair

So this week I made a mistake. I bleached my hair. Now from what I’ve read this is a common mistake that many of us will make at one point or another, which is why I’m writing this post. I want to beg and plead that you avoid bleaching your hair.

So let me give you a little background on my hair. I have very dry hair and I’ve worked so hard to keep my hair hydrated. I’m talking coconut oil, split-end treatments, deep conditioners and avoiding heat on my hair when I can. I must say, my hair has come a very long way and I’ve made my hairdresser very proud.

Now let me give you a little background on my hairdresser. I am very, very picky about who touches my hair. When I say I’ve tried pretty much everyone in Gainesville, you’re probably thinking I’m over exaggerating, but I’m really not. It has gotten to a point where I just stopped going at all and began cutting my own hair for maybe a year and a half (I gave myself the cutest bangs, too). But one day I got tired of doing my own hair and followed a recommendation of a friend. Turns out, he’s the best hairdresser in the entire world. As much as I want to advertise his work like I usually do, in this case we’re just not going to not discuss who he is. The point is, I’ve asked him to do all the craziest, most complicated things and he’s nailed it every time until a few days ago.

So, long story short, I’ve been dying to go blonde for the longest time so I decided I was going to do it. I wanted a super soft and feminine ombre that started from a lighter brown and naturally flowed into a soft blonde (more platinum than yellow). Well, turns out my hairdresser didn’t do the best job. First, he never lightened my hair and I have very dark hair. Then, he used foils in my hair. And finally, he bleached my hair all in one go. Unfortunately, I didn’t have time to let him blow dry my hair, so I thought I was going to look great….I was wrong.

My hair was extremely damaged and there was a solid line between my “blonde” (yellow). I looked absolutely TERRIBLE! After I Googled how to fix bleached hair, I was able to save it on a basic level.

So how to fix your hair after you’ve bleached it? The best thing to do is to dye your hair back to the natural color your hair was when you were a kid. And make sure that when you’re dying your hair, you go for a warmer color. Usually when you dye your hair a cool color after bleaching it, you will turn your hair green – and no one wants that.

Finally, haircare is essential. Using olive oil or coconut oil weekly is a great idea. The bleach strips your hair of all moisture, so your hair is literally begging for some hydration. That being said, wash your hair a lot less than usual because shampooing also strips the oils from your hair.  Also, the sad tip of the day, cut your hair. It’s best solution to get to healthier hair faster, especially if you did an ombre like me. Finally, avoid putting heat in your hair. A lot of people who do this for even a week, see a huge difference.

So there you have it. If you can please avoid bleaching your hair, do it. It will save you so much time and money and stress. Nothing is worse than thinking, “Oh my God, I have to shave my head.”

Leave a Reply

